Interim Chair Joann McEniry

The Newark EMA HIV Health Services Planning Council is a federally required body that conducts planning, decides how to allocate Ryan White Part A resources, and works to ensure a system of care that provides equitable access to care and needed services to all eligible people living with HIV in the Newark Eligible Metropolitan Area (NEMA) which includes the counties of Essex, Union, Morris, Sussex and Warren

Planning Council membership must meet the requirements of reflectiveness—having characteristics that reflect the local epidemic in such areas as race, ethnicity, gender, and age, and representation—filling the required membership categories as stated in the legislation. At least 33 percent of voting members must be consumers of RWHAP Part A services who are “unaffiliated” or “unaligned.” This means they do not have a conflict of interest, meaning they are not staff, paid consultants, or Board members of RWHAP Part A-funded agencies. 

The Planning Council meets every third Wednesday of the month at 1:30 PM. 

*Meeting dates are subject to change based upon inclement weather, please refer to the meeting calendar for updates. 

** Click here to view the Planning Council's agendas and minutes.

In order to complete all the necessary work which must be performed, the Planning Council consists of the following committees: 

 All council and committee meetings are open to the general public

Please check the calendar for meeting dates and times. 

Learn more about the HIV Ending the Epidemic Initiative