To plan for the development, implementation and continual improvement of the health care and treatment services for People Living With and Affected by HIV/AIDS who reside in the five New Jersey Counties of Essex, Morris, Sussex, Union, and Warren.

The Newark EMA HIV Health Services Planning Council has moved all of its meetings to video conferences online until further notice to minimize the exposure of meeting attendees to COVID-19. Updates will be posted on this website with news about any changes  and to confirm a decision about future meetings.

Interim Chair Joann McEniry

The Newark EMA HIV Health Services Planning Council is a federally required body that conducts planning, decides how to allocate Ryan White Part A resources, and works to ensure a system of care that provides equitable access to care and needed services to all eligible people living with HIV in the Newark Eligible Metropolitan Area (NEMA) which includes the counties of Essex, Union, Morris, Sussex and Warren

Planning Council membership must meet the requirements of reflectiveness—having characteristics that reflect the local epidemic in such areas as race, ethnicity, gender, and age, and representation—filling the required membership categories as stated in the legislation. At least 33 percent of voting members must be consumers of RWHAP Part A services who are “unaffiliated” or “unaligned.” This means they do not have a conflict of interest, meaning they are not staff, paid consultants, or Board members of RWHAP Part A-funded agencies. 

The Planning Council meets every third Wednesday of the month at 1:30 PM. 

*Meeting dates are subject to change based upon inclement weather, please refer to the meeting calendar for updates. 

** Click here to view the Planning Council's agendas and minutes.

In order to complete all the necessary work which must be performed, the Planning Council consists of the following committees: 

 All council and committee meetings are open to the general public

Please check the calendar for meeting dates and times. 

Learn more about the HIV Ending the Epidemic Initiative

On August 18, 1990, Congress enacted the Ryan White Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Act— the legislation that created the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program—to improve the quality and availability of HIV care and treatment for low-income people with HIV.

The Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Extension Act of 2009 is the U.S. legislation passed and reauthorized by U.S. Congress that allocates funds for the care and treatment of people living with HIV/AIDS through the Ryan White Program. The Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program was named after an Indiana teenager, Ryan White, who publicly advocated for the needs of people living with HIV until his death in 1990.

At the federal level, the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) administers the Ryan White Program which is divided into five parts: Part A, B, C, D, and F.  Part A of the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Extension Act of 2009 provides assistance to Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs) and Transitional Grant Areas (TGAs) — locales that are most severely affected by the HIV/AIDS epidemic. The intent of this program is to help meet the health needs of persons living with HIV/AIDS who are unable to pay for services and are most in need.

Each EMA is required to have a planning body charged with developing spending priorities and allocating for Ryan White Part A funds based on the needs of the ever-changing HIV/AIDS epidemic. The Planning Council works in collaboration with the Ryan White Part A Recipient to develop a comprehensive plan to distribute Part A funds only, which provide core medical and support services for people living with HIV/AIDS. 

The Newark EMA

In the Newark EMA, the Mayor of the City of Newark designated the Ryan White Unit of the Newark Department of Health and Community Wellness to administer Part A funds for the Newark EMA which includes the counties of Essex, Union, Morris, Sussex and Warren.

Last Updated on: 7/30/21